Ecclesiological Etchings: 08-28-12

Thought for the Day: Thomas Merton was one of the great 20th century mystics and writers.  He is one of those people whose works could produce a thought-provoking quote for every day of the year.  I saw this one come across Facebook the other day, and it caught my attention.  Merton wrote,

And the deepest level of communication is 
not communication, but communion.
It is wordless. It is beyond words, and it is beyond speech, and it is beyond concept.
Not that we discover a new unity.
We discover an older unity.
My dear brothers (and sisters), 
we are already one.
But we imagine that we are not.
And what we have to recover is our original unity.
What we have to be is what we are.

I think we too often confuse communion with God as offering our litany of wants and hankerings to God.  Of course, God wants to hear our concerns, but God wants us to be with God and listen to God and touch the wholeness God intended from the beginning…even if it is just for a few minutes.

Prayer: God, I come before you, quieting myself and…  …Amen.

 

Leave a comment