01-31-23

ECCLESIOLOGICAL ETCHINGS
January 31, 2023

Today is my mother’s birthday, and though there will be people who will remind her throughout the day, she is at a point in her progression where she won’t really remember. Of course, that is sort of my mom. It wasn’t ever really about her. For years, her main response when asked what she wanted for her birthday was “stamps!” I’m guessing she mailed out more than a thousand cards every year, and the cost of stamps (along with the cards) added up quickly. It was a part of her ministry. It always seemed strange, though, to send her stamps (we usually sent something else as well), but I have clear memories of talking to her on her birthday, and she’d say with complete seriousness, “Thanks for the stamps! They are always something I can use.” I guess there is something holy about what happened. We gift people with no expectations attached, yet so often people who have been blessed see it as an opportunity to be a blessing to others. As we read in 1 Peter 4, “Like good stewards of the manifold grace of God, serve one another with whatever gift each of you has received.”

For all those who seek to bless those around them, I give thanks, O God! Amen.



Leave a comment