06-14-24

ECCLESIOLOGICAL ETCHINGS
June 14, 2024  
Like a lot of people, I have been watching the decision-making process at the Southern Baptist Church’s Convention taking place this week in Indianapolis. The SBC is the largest Protestant Denomination in the United States, and so their decisions are watched pretty closely by the media and many of us clergy. The most impactful decision was formalizing an amendment to their constitution that would ban churches from recognizing women as ministers, but it failed. 61% of the delegates voted in favor, but it required 2/3rds. Though I was pleased to learn that it had failed, the SBC still has an official doctrinal statement saying the office of pastor is limited to men. There are a handful of renegade churches within the SBC who have recognized the call of women clergy, though sadly, some of them have been pushed out.

Today, I think about all the women clergy who have served or are serving at Cypress Creek Christian Church, including Rev. Paula Gembala, Rev. Mariah Newell, Rev. Tamika Nelson, Rev. Hannah Fitch, Rev. Linda Brady, Rev. Renee Hoke, Rev. Clara Lewis, and the list goes on. It is hard to fathom the impact these ministers and many others have had upon the lives of countless individuals, whether from the pulpit, classroom, hospital, etc. When someone recently said, “The Disciples of Christ are Baptists with a bit more compassion,” I took exception to the comment. First, I believe there are plenty of Baptists who are full of compassion and have shared in amazing Christ-like ministry. With that said, any religious system that seeks to exclude anyone raises significant questions for me. But today, I am focusing that question back on myself, wondering where the system I currently serve is not fully embracing all those whom God has called or is calling. Where have we allowed our short-sidedness or unnamed insecurities to find theological or Biblical backing to justify why some are not qualified to be called as ministers? Though there are a handful of passages taken out of context that might defend such a belief, how does anyone read scripture and walk away saying, “God can’t do that?” It appears that each time human beings have suggested such a thing, God has surprised us. I know a number of Baptists who have joyfully been surprised by God in recent years, and I only pray that if such a surprise is something I need, that I will be open to the idea.

God of Immeasurable Possibilities, I pray earnestly for the ability to glimpse any limitation I have placed upon you, whether that be knowingly or unknowingly. Though I might claim a belief in your immeasurable and unconditional love, I must confess those times when I have placed limits and conditions on it. Surprise me, I pray! Amen.



Leave a comment